Welcome to First Presbyterian Church!

Welcome to our church community of followers of Jesus. We are active learners who believe that the Holy Spirit is on the go in our midst guiding us as we grow together toward embracing the fullness of God’s grace. We are active doers as we engage together in Christian service in our community, at our camp, in our nation and in our world. We are an open faith community that delights in and embraces the broad diversity of God’s amazing tapestry of humanity.

Central to our life together is worship. We are blessed with a historic sanctuary and an amazing music ministry that enrich our worship. We are intentional about expanding our exposure to God’s truth through Sunday school, Bible study, and fellowship in town as well as in the ministries that are based at our Rockhaven Camp. Not content to keep to ourselves, our church is engaged in many local ministries and projects that put into action the faith that we profess. We also celebrate our connection to the worldwide Christian church as part of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.).

We invite you to take a closer look at our amazing church through the pages of this website. We hope that you will want to come and see for yourself what God is doing here. We look forward to welcoming you and discovering how First Presbyterian Church can become your church home.

Our Leadership

Ruling Elders:

Katie Anderson

Carol Anway

Suzanne Bratsky 

Debby Haynes 

Lloyd Mandeville

Mike Roser

Nancy Rutkowski

John Sacklin

Terry Schaplow

David Spencer

Jim Thompson

Donna Beck, clerk of session


Brad & Trish Garnick

Mary Hektner 

Julie Lucas

Marcia Jarrett

Mike Marjanen

Craig & Linda Miller

Jay & Bruce Pontius-Backman

Roger & Joann Robbins

Dick & Nancy Rote 

Dorothy Sopp

Paula Thomson

Carolyn & Mark Williams

Joann Robbins, Chairperson

Our Staff

Rev. Ashley Birk
Interim Pastor & Head of Staff
Deb Jackson
Office Administrator & Financial Secretary
Larry Growney
Sexton & A/V Technician
Chandler Joiner
Rockhaven Camp Director
Debbie Ernst
Treasurer (Volunteer)
Aigerim Haynes Mendoza
Nursery Director
Russell Milburn
Worship Choir Director
Sara Boom
First Bells Choir Director
Alison Todd
Organist & Music Coordinator
Holly Aloise
Jay Pontius-Backman
Assoc. Organist (Volunteer)